Texas Bans Texting and Driving
Texas is rolling out a law fining drivers who text while operating a motor vehicle. Texas is the 47th state to adopt such a law. Some legislators have been pushing for this for over a decade. A first time offender will pay $99. Repeat offenders can be fined upwards of $200. Drivers are prohibited from reading, writing, or sending electronic messages while not stopped in a motor vehicle. It is still legal to use a phone to control your sound system, or access navigation maps. The wording of the law raises legal questions, when it comes to drivers checking their ELD’s on the road. If a driver is checking their log, is that illegal?