Texting while Driving Fine Increases
Sending a quick text while driving in Delaware? Bad idea. Governor Jack Markell will sign a bill into law, that increases the base fine from $50 to $100 for first time offenders who are caught using their smartphone while they are operating a motor vehicle. After the first offense, your payment increases to $200 and then $300. The cap fine is $300. Delaware State Police write about 12,000 tickets for drivers using their phones on the road. This law applies to any driver who is talking, texting, or using their device in any way while the vehicle is in motion. The bill says it affects any driver whose vehicle is in motion, raising the question, What about using a device at a Red light?